TMac

By TMac

Sensory Overload

After a non-productive day, I pushed myself to get out for a walk in the early evening.
During my 3 hour meander, I heard a cacophony of bird-song interspersed with an entertaining Cuckoo duel, overlaid by the hysterical laughter of the Green Woodpecker and the screech of the Great Spotted Woodpecker.
The scent of coconut from the gorse felt like it could be scooped up in my hands and carried home.
The buzz of bees and midges brought the peat bog to a buzzing frenzy.
All the while, the early evening sun warmed my face as I sought out a sighting of deer or hare.
Neither disappointed although only the deer provided a photo opportunity.
All this is accessible from my front door.
No need to travel.
I did feel my blood pressure rising as I spied two paragliders jump off the hill. Definitely not on the Scottish Government roadmap. And definitely not sensible. 3 months ago, a helicopter, the Mountain Rescue, Ambulance Service, and Police were called to a paraglider who misjudged his descent. This is not the time to take risks. It spoiled what may have been a good evening's walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.