Philippines

The Philippines. It has been two decades since I've been to the Philippines. It was one of my first international trips. This is a toy jeepney. Really, it is rather bland for a jeepney. Real jeepneys are so incredibly wildly chaotically decorated. They are constructed in-country. Seats are filled with coconut fiber. Owners decorate them to taste. I just looked online and saw that there are plans to try to phase them out because they are more polluting than modern vehicles - which is both understandable and sad. Today I took it out of its package for the very first time, pulled up a picture of Manilla, positioned the toy in front of the computer monitor, and later composited out the stand holding the jeepney. 

It would have been nice to finally go back in June for a conference but at least I avoid jet lag. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.