First day of freedom

Spent a beautiful morning walking with Samuel and noticing cicadas everywhere. I bought a new bag of birdseed at the store where you call them ahead of time, give them your credit card number, and they bring it to your car and put it in your trunk in a safe, socially distanced manner. We dropped off some food at the little library. I saw someone for my frozen shoulder and she's helping me with my neck too. I had a "meeting" where I again learned that I'm slightly more interesting than I remembered being. 

Twice today I heard a sound in the distance that might be the buzz of cicadas. At some point cicadas make a loud sound to let everyone know they would like to mate now. It is supposedly as loud as a lawnmower. I don't remember it from last time. It should begin in earnest in a few days. 

It will be as though they've been trapped, all alone, in the dark, for an extended time, and are only now allowed out, tearing out of their shells, and given the opportunity to mingle. It will be their post-quarantine orgy. 

Next month intelligence agencies will report on UFOs to Congress. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.