Iris

It was a dull start to the day but we had some overnight rain which was welcome.  I went down to the allotment and planted in some cabbages that I had been given.  Still lots more to plant in and I'm beginning to run out of space.  Still the potatoes should free up room in few weeks time.

Late morning I visited the local gardens which had just opened and met up with a friend and fellow blipper for a chat and stroll around, all socially distanced.  It was good to catch up and do some photography together.  The Rhododendrons and Azaleas were in fine form but it was the colours and textures of this Iris that attracted me.

Later in the afternoon I didn't feel like doing much so resorted to my favourite pastime of baking.  I thought I would have a go at a ginger cake from a new recipe, unfortunately I made the mistake of not reading the quantities properly and put all the ginger wine (well I only had ginger syrup) in the mix.  When it sunk in the middle and this wasn't due to not being cooked I re read the recipe and realised I should have saved 2 tablespoons of the liquid for the icing.  Still it tastes ok which is the main thing I suppose.

It seems its the weekend again and another bank holiday as well, under normal circumstances we would have probably had our daughter and family over, but at least we have our son with us. So hoping we don't get a  serious second spike of infection, we shall see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.