Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A natural terrarium

The hubby brought this bottle home yesterday for me!  (He knows I like the old garbage...unusual things...found in the woods.    He told me there was a forest growing inside.   I didn't have time to look at it closely yesterday so today I did.

I can't tell if what is growing is a fern forest or a moss forest.  It looks more like tiny ferns to me.   I tried to clean up the bottle but did not want to use anything soapy in case it killed whatever is growing.  But I will try again.

The reason he found this was the great heavy rain we had washed out several areas at his hunt camp and it was sitting on top of the soil.  I saw more flooding today on the way to work when I drove over the bridge of the Congaree River  that is along the riverwalk trail in Columbia.  The sidewalks are all buried under water as the river keeps rising.  We are expecting more rain for the next three afternoons.    This flooding also means that Congaree National Park is flooded but it was not open yet anyway.  

Tomorrow I am going blueberry picking!!   And maybe a stop at the farmers market for peaches.  

Have the best weekend!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.