TMac

By TMac

A Fortunate Series of Events

I didn't walk yesterday.

The day passed as a fog; if I adjust my vision, I can sort of make sense of it.

I was angry and disgusted with myself.

I almost didn't walk again today.
The weather was pretty foul but I'm no fair weather walker.

The day slithered past in a malevolent time-eating fugue.

Then a triple whammy of friends gave me encouragement in three very different, and entirely unconnected ways.

They know of each other but don't really know each other, so I believe their interventions were serendipitous rather than surreptitious.

I got dressed and headed out.
It was windy and, at times, very wet. It wasn't cold and there was a certain pleasure in feeling the sharp sting of rain stabbing the skin of my face.

I pushed for the 4 miles.
Any less would be a waste.
The loch had the look of a stormy sea.

I'm glad I went out.

If you felt the same today, or feel the same tomorrow, let me be the friend that whispers in your ear what you need to hear...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.