Jen_Elliot

By Jen_Elliot

Cressida

Wildly, windy walk on Porty beach this morning. Genuinely discombobulated by the end of the walk - physically and mentally blasted about. Needed to come home to shelter and regroup. On the beach, tide was low and I was able to get up close to Cressida, a local art project. She was an octopus sculpture, covered more or less by each tide, put up several years ago. I am very fond of her but that twice daily battering and life by salty sea water has taken its toll and she has almost gone. Facebook shared another public art work from 2007 that I had loved it - several sand pyramids were created by the artist (sadly I do not know whom, nor do I know the name of Cressida's creator) then, over the next few weeks they were dismantled as local kids climbed on them. My daughter was about 18 months at the time. We clambered on them. I love (most) public art.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.