Which environment?

Above ground, or underground?

The latest in  a manhole cover seen while on my run. Still walking more than I would like, but overall feeling pretty good. 

The environment below ground is unknown to me, but the above ground environment has deteriorated markedly in the last ten days, since the cars have come back. One thing which was very noticeable last weekend (the first at Level 2) was the number of motorcycles and large exhaust pipe cars and other markers of macho, on the roads. Not so much today. It was much more people hurrying to get somewhere.

This particular manhole cover differs from what I would have thought (with no empirical or observational evidence to do so) they all looked like. Had I thought about them at all, I would have imagined them as plain, without words and just circular ridges to reduce slipping. Such do exist, especially in the older parts of the city. The newer ones are clearly establishing major differences from other manufacturers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.