WILL THIS DO FOR DERELICT SUNDAY?

After I had my shower, I realised I had quite a long time before our Church Service starts at 11 a.m. this morning, so decided to have a “play” with some indoor photography.

Last Sunday, Paul, my "little" brother - well, little in age, not in any other way, because he is bigger and broader in stature than I am - popped in to see us.  I was thrilled when he handed me a bouquet of tulips and they have been on my kitchen windowsill where I have been enjoying them all week.  

His birthday was at the beginning of March, so it was good he called because I still had his birthday present - a packet of Violet Creams that we had bought in Marlborough.  They were Mum’s favourite and when he visited her every Sunday, he often pinched enjoyed one or two, but my sister and I didn’t like them at all.  Strange really, that a big bloke like him would like something yukky like that!  Anyway, we stood under our carport and had a good natter.  He told me he had been back to work the previous Monday, but it was lonely as he was working on his own - but at least he was able to go back and get into a routine again.

I knew at some stage that I would be Blipping at least one of the tulips, and today was the day.  Most of the tulips were still looking good, but this particular one, although still a beautiful colour, had started to droop and was just right for my Blip.

It looks as if I have a wonderful studio, but when I tell you that I got out my black velvet backing material, which just happens to be a pair of trousers, fixed it into the kitchen cupboard above my worktop, put a glass by the side of it, so that I could rest an LED torch on the top, and then took lots of photographs, you will know that looks can be deceiving.  However, I was pleased with the result and after a few little tweaks in Snapseed, this is my offering for today.  I guess if you think that derelict means “gone over” or even “past its best” then this tulip would qualify for the Derelict Sunday challenge.  It certainly passed a good half hour for me and I do love tulips at this stage in their life. 

It’s still very windy here, but the sun is shining so Mr. HCB says he may come out for a walk with me this afternoon.  I daresay we may go over to the field and down one of the little paths today, being careful we don’t get stung by those very large stinging nettles - I have to report that my finger is still very sore and I know from experience, that they can even sting through thick jeans, as my legs can testify.

Have a great Sunday and be blessed whatever you do.  Off to set up the iPad ready for Church now and then for our Zoom Coffee and Chat afterwards.

“In early spring, 
     every petal of tulips 
          sing a song of love and life, 
dance with joy and happiness 
     to enjoy her short life 
          of dazzling beauty.” 
Debasish Mridha

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.