Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

1990. It would have been Mom’s birthday today...

...and she would have been 88 years old....I can’t believe that it has been almost 6 years since we lost her....but I am thankful that I spent her last moments holding her hand and telling her it was ok to say goodbye with my brother by my side physically and my sister in spirit as she dashed from Australia to see Mom for one last time.  I have been particularly sad today as I thought about the thousands of people who never got that chance to say goodbye to their loved ones...many of whom were taken far too soon because of this virus.  I was so angry yesterday when it emerged that the PM’s aide had broken lockdown not once but potentially three times just because he wanted to see his Mom on her birthday and take his wife out for the day on hers.  This story was never about protecting the welfare of his child, it was all about doing what he wanted to do “no matter what the cost” because he felt empowered to do so.  This government is just so “entitled” it beggars belief.  As I watch the stories emerging on Twitter one struck me, a Junior Doctor posted an image of himself getting ready for a shift in ICU in full high grade PPE. He hasn’t seen his folks since January and every day he battles to save lives and has to watch people die.  His last words were chilling, either Dominic Cummings resigns or he will....what a sad loss that would be for the NHS...to lose someone because they just thought the sacrifice was no longer worth it when charlatans can get away with risking lives.  I have shed a few tears at reading some of the stories posted online....so I will be forever grateful that I was with my Mom when she passed away....so happy birthday Mom...never forgotten...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.