The Same But Different

Recently I experimented with ‘invisible black backgrounds’ using my SLR and an off-camera flashgun. Today I tried a similar technique using my little LUMIX camera. 

The shot of the wild garlic flowers was taken in the woods this morning. I think it turned out OK. A few things caused me some problems, first of all the aperture on the camera only goes up to 8, which made excluding all ambient light harder. Fortunately it was quite gloomy today and I got almost black! Second problem was the flash itself which is just a little pop up on top of the body. Unfortunately the lens protrudes a bit and if you get close with the camera it casts a shadow on the subject. So I had to shoot a bit further away, which has meant having to crop a bit and obviously the light is not as bright. 

Another food delivery today, got everything we ordered except black pudding! Breakfasts will be a bit smaller this week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.