The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Four Kids at Home

The herons are still staying at home though the kids are starting to get antsy. I saw a couple of them spreading their wings but could tell that their feathers are still not ready for flight. They've got pin feathers so they look sort of spiky and awkward when they spread their wings.

I took a walk down to the rookery this morning passing through the off leash dog park on the way. There weren't many people out. About half were wearing masks even though our county now requires them both inside and outside if you get closer than six feet to other people. On the paths you almost have to do that so I was masked the whole time I was out. My destination was the heron rookery and I took my Sony RX10 IV to be sure I could use the telephoto to get close enough to photograph them. There is one nest that is easier to see than the others because a large tree that was in its way fell down this winter. At first I just saw one bird and decided it must be a baby. Then there were two kids. Then three. I didn't see the fourth one until mom came flying in to feed them all. I was very lucky to be able to get photos of her feeding the  kids and after she left of the kids hanging out together.

Shelly has been busy at home this morning and afternoon. He'll come over in time for our afternoon zoom with my family. One thing about these meetings is that I get to see my relatives who live elsewhere on a much more regular basis than before. Jason, my son, is in Brooklyn, NY. My nephews live in Henderson, NV and Des Moines, WA, and I don't get to see them often. Now we get together weekly and that is very nice.

Since I'm thinking this stay at home thing will be going on quite awhile longer, I'm doing my best to adjust and make it the best it can be. Zoom makes that possible as does taking long walks in the woods nearby. And best of all, having Shelly to share this with makes it not only bearable but also really nice a lot of the time. Life is good and I am very very lucky.

I wish good and happy times for you all, wherever you may be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.