The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

60 Year Connection

I ran across this 1941 Mercury Head dime today when I dumped my purse out on the sofa, frantically searching for something I misplaced.

I pulled the 2001 dime out of my wallet to compare them, and realized that my mom probably kept the old dime because it was from the year that the United States entered WWII.

Ironically, my dime was from the year that America was attacked by Al Qaeda. It may have been a coincidence, but I think that most things happen for a reason.

Perhaps it happened as a reminder that things change in appearance, but certain years have events attached to them that live on forever.

Think about it. I'm sure we all have certain years that recall joy or pain. Years that we wish we could live over again, or we'd erase forever if possible.

It's interesting that something as simple as a dime can bring about a little story...or serve as my Blip du jour.

I love that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.