The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

A Borrower's Tale

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be a very tiny being? SInce I was a young child, and read Mary Norton's fantastical tale of The Borrowers, the thought of tagging along on one of their adventures has crossed my mind.

Today, I ventured outside for one of my very long fitness walks, and made a stop at the arboretum in my sleepy New Jersey town. My visits there always bring me much joy, and often prompt me to take out my iPhone and snap a few photos.

I could not help but think of Pod, Homily and Arrietty, displaced from their home and faced with scaling this treacherous mountain of petrified wood and slippery moss. Imagine what huge creatures they may encounter while exploring the hidden cave, or what prehistoric-sized insect may crawl from the crevices of this foreboding obstacle.

My curiosity to discover their unique perspective caused me to get down on the ground and snap this photo of a moss-covered tree stump.

A wild imagination and love of storytelling are 2 things I will never outgrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.