Time

I had a call from the doctor at the hospital who gave me an update on my mum. It wasn't anything new, but her blood pressure is very low - 80/50 and her kidneys are functioning at a level of 8 and this should be between 60 - 90. then in the afternoon she called again to say that I should go in. 

Once there, she explained that my mum was not responding to medical treatment and that there really wasn't anything more they could do other than make her comfortable. I had some options, but thought it best to keep my mum where she was  as she had the best care there. We have been given 3/4 days.

I went in and saw my mum. She was awake, but sleeping mostly restfully, now and again looking a bit disturbed. I told her I loved her, and said goodbye.  I phoned L and told him, he wanted to go and see her so I picked him up. We are allowed in, one at a time. He spent some time with her and she told him she had had enough.  When he came out he broke down and sobbed in my arms.  It is heart breaking to see your mum like this and to see your own children so upset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.