Muddy Bottoms

I hadn't intended to come this way. I planned a route including some lanes I hadn't been down before and went off on a track whereas I normally keep to paved roads. I must have missed the planned route, in fact I did go that way but thought I'd strayed onto private property. It was a lovely route beside this small stream and when I saw this footbridge I though it might provide a nice picture. As I got back on my bike a couple came along so I asked where the path came out. I learned it would take me to Ideford Combe and then I realised it was 'Muddy Bottoms' I was travelling along. We used to walk this way when Marian lived at Ideford Combe and I'd never seen it as dry as this before. I spoke to soon, I soon came to a very muddy bit and this bike is not built for mud plugging. There was a dry bank on one side which I could walk along while I pushed the bike along. This muddy bit was only 50 metres or so and I soon found myself on a dry path going into Ideford Combe and soon back on the planned return route.

So Dominic Cummings has now given a press conference and told us of the 'complicated' and 'extreme 'circumstances that made him think it was alright to break the lockdown and drive all the way to Durham. I understand that he works in a pressured environment but I don't see that his situation is any more complicated or his situation any more extreme than any other couple with a young child in these difficult times. As for walking in a bluebell wood in Barnard Castle? He was just checking he could see OK  before taking the long drive back to London. That's alright then. If that's the best an experienced spin doctor can come up with I'm disappointed.

I am a bit concerned that we have an adviser who is so important that he's allowed to get away with this behaviour. Our Prime Minister looks very weak if he can't survive without him. He needs to go so our government can concentrate on the important stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.