Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Rushes

What a gorgeous day. It was busy out on the moor - car parks were full, kites were being flown, paragliding was being attempted. But having said that, there was plenty of space, and it never felt crowded on the footpaths.

Up at the big ponds on Low Plain I finally bumped into my first Large Red Damselflies of the year, deep in the rushes.

Butterflies were thin on the ground but I saw my first Small Heath of the year, no sign of any Green Hairstreaks on their territory though, so they may be more or less finished.

I came across a family of Stonechats, it looked like at least two fledglings. A Kestrel was hovering on the side of the hillside.

For the moment I'm still happy sticking to my patch. And I don't drive so I haven't got much choice. But I am looking forward to making trips to places again at some point.

Butterfly Journal 2020

14.  25/05/2020  Small Heath, Baildon Moor

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.