a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Noël

This is a shot of Dad(Noël) taken during his time in National Service in the RAF in the early 1950s.  It is something that I came across quite recently when clearing out some of his old papers.  He's probably about 21 in this shot I think, but as it doesn't have any sort of date or markings its hard to be certain.  I blipped a photo of his Dad (Fred) in his First World War uniform a while back

There aren't that many photos of Dad at this time in his life so its quite interesting to see and compare it with photos of my siblings and I at around the same age.  By way of comparison, there's a particularly fine one of my brother (Brentastic) and I with our Mum and Dad in the extras from 1986 - I anticipate that my sister Janet was probably the person taking the photo (hence her absence from it).  I think that I am about 26 and my brother about 20 - I'm the one with the large print shirt and he's the one wearing double denim.  As you can see Dad is wearing a tie in both shots.  Dad has worn a tie all his life and has never really felt comfortable without one.  He even used to wear a jacket and tie when doing the gardening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.