a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Another visitor

Tiny Tuesday: Broad bodied chaser ~ male


We've had two broad bodied chasers over the pond this morning.  The male had the good grace to settle for a minute and allowed me to get this shot - although with the zoom telephoto I'm using here I'm actually not that close to it.  The female hovered over the pond dipping her tail in it, but didn't settle.  I tried but couldn't get a shot of her. 

I'm really quite pleased with the clarity in the shot - helped enormously by the very bright weather we are having.

I'm not sure if her behaviour means that she was ovipositing - other dragonflies that I've seen have generally needed to settle for a while to lay their eggs, but the broad bodied dragonfly has a much shorter tail so perhaps doesn't need to?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.