a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Another Damselfly Gets His Wings

Wild Wednesday: Fresh This Morning

I've been hoping for a while now that I would get to see a damselfly emerge from its nymph state to its new adult form and it happened this morning.  Inevitably I took a lot of shots, although many of the early ones are not that great as I didn't want to get that close and in any way cause a problem at what is presumably quite a traumatic time for the damselfly.  However, once it was clearly emerged I thought that it was probably in order to get a bit closer with a macro lens, and this is the result.

In hindsight I think I might have been able to get a better shot with a slightly wider depth of field, but I was so excited that you will have to forgive me.  Hopefully this afternoons occasional sunny patches will quickly enable this newborn to harden off sufficiently to be able to go and hide somewhere safe from the predators, while he gets used to its new airborne status.  I think its a him rather than a her, but sexing damselflies is very much not a speciality of mine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.