a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Looking Down

Wide Wednesday: Looking Down

The yellow rose on the patio has been flowering for a couple of days now.  Cathy was sure that it had reached its peak yesterday, but on examination at lunchtime it was decided that today was that day.  I'm sure that it will last until Flower Friday in a couple of days, but it did give me this opportunity for a looking down shot that managed to avoid my legs and feet.  

Nothing of earth shattering significance to report otherwise.  I went for a shortish cycle ride (pedal power not petrol) earlier on, and played guitar and worked on Dad's papers.  I decided to have another go at sourdough and made my starter a few days ago.  It is already pleasantly active, tripling in size within about 5 hours, so it is getting close to being useable now.

The UK's political situation and the Dominic Cummings affair continues to occupy the media at home and abroad.  The irony of the introduction tomorrow of the "track, trace and isolate" regime is not lost on anyone I am sure.  Well, not lost on anyone except Boris and the other members of the cabinet.

Yesterday we received an unsolicited 32 page glossy magazine called the "Epoch Times" which is pedalling far right conspiracy theories about the origin of coronavirus being linked to the Chinese Communist Party.  I understand that that the "publication" is the work of the Falun Gong religious movement.  Wikipedia tells me that it is "primarily known for promoting far-right politicians across Europe and the United States, and in particular for its promotion of U.S. President Donald Trump; a 2019 report showed it to be the second-largest funder of pro-Trump Facebook advertising after the Trump campaign".  

I cannot think of anything appropriate for which I can use this "publication".   I was tempted to post it in an unstamped envelope addressed to President Trump c/o one of his UK golf courses, and I would if I thought that the post office would actually try to deliver it and charge them the postage.  I fear it is destined for the recycling as I can't think of a worse fate for it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.