Bom

By Bom

Incoming

I thought I'd just about get away with posting yet another bee photo - I love the challenge of trying to get them in flight. Lots of bees on my lavender at the moment. G kindly donated 3 unwanted flowers to me which I planted out the front this morning - it was sooooo hot in the sun for doing that, but they needed to go in straight away. This afternoon I sat in the sun, a beautiful day with full sun and about 24C. 

Day 71 / Day 63 of Lockdown / Day 13 of Step 1 (for my record only)
UK deaths up 121 to 36,914 (beware low no's this week until Wed due to bank hol reporting). Today as well as the daily briefing with the PM there was a statement and grilling of Dominic Cummings by the Press. I was satisfied with his statement, perhaps with the exception of the drive out to check he was ok to drive to London. I have been very unimpressed with the Press over both this issue and the pandemic reporting with a few exceptions including the ITV reporter Paul Brand who focused on the care home issue. I believe in investigative journalism, but not in trying to create a story, and using emotive language to stir up trouble rather than reporting the facts. I think Twitter isn't helping this. Seeing DC's neighbours ganging up and shouting abuse at his house, presumably with his young son inside, was completely unacceptable. 

Government guidance says:  'If you are living with children
Keep following this advice to the best of your ability, however, we are aware that not all these measures will be possible. What we have seen so far is that children with coronavirus (COVID-19) appear to be less severely affected. It is nevertheless important to do your best to follow this guidance.'

Government guidance cannot and should not try to cover every situation In this case both parents were showing CV symptoms, needing possible childcare should they get worse, living in a house where they are potentially insecure, having the option to socially isolate in a property on his parent's farm where a 17 year old neice could help if needed. I find it unacceptable that any public servant has to go into the details of their child's health issues. To me the scandal is the Police admitting they never spoke to his family about compliance with the restrictions as they previously said they had. 

Boris outlined the upcoming Retail changes, with outdoor markets and car showrooms opening 1st June and non-essential Retail opening 15th June. All must be Covid secure premises in line with updated guidance issued today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.