My Favourite Place

The mono Monday challenge today is “ my favourite place”. It can only be home and garden as this is where we have spent the last 9 weeks, without break. I am at a stage where I would love to step on other soil, but that’s something we’ll talk about when we get to the end of the 12 week shielding period. Although beyond 12 weeks, avoiding contact with other people will remain really important,

Fortunately, I like home and garden. And am getting to know it intimately.

And we are not alone, it is a place we share with lots of others. Including the Tree Bumblebees.

This morning I was getting to grips with a variety of admin tasks in what we grandly call West Wing North, part of our converted garage at the side of the house. The sound of bees in the room was a bit distracting. The bumblebees are nesting in the eaves and above me in this room. A bit of googling suggests they are unlikely to create any structural damage. I’ll just have to get used to the buzzing.

Tree bumblebees were first discovered in the UK in 2001, in Wiltshire, since when they have expanded across the country rapidly. The workers (example on the allium) are small. Bit busy, and it seems ..... noisy. If we are going to have noisy neighbours, bumblebees are ones I can cope with,

Thanks to Carolina.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.