About to turn

By jMcLean

Peony

A good Memorial Day. When I was growing up, at least after my family had moved to the Northwest (where both my parents were from and had been trying to get back to for years), we'd gather together with grandparents and stuff their chevy's big trunk with buckets of flowers from my grandfather's garden. Peonies, if any were still left, but more likely lilies and glads and all sorts of others. We'd drive from their Walla Walla house in southeastern Washington up to the Palouse, along the Idaho border, and distribute the flowers in cemeteries where many generations of my grandmother's family are buried. Some were veterans, some not. We'd hear the old stories and visit those who were still alive, as well - which probably sounds strange, but that weekend always gave equal measure to past as well as current generations.

I mowed the lawn (2/3 of it so far) with the John Deere tractor today - first time, feeling pleased. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.