THE GARDEN'S LOOKING GOOD!

One thing we have never really been able to grow in our heavy clay soil is lupins, so I am delighted this year that a lupin plant that we bought at a roadside stall last year is looking fantastic and it’s even my favourite colour!  I remember when we bought it, I spoke to the lady when I went in to pay her and she said she just sold the plants for a hobby.  I think one of the places we shall go to soon is back there - as it’s not far from where we live - to see if she has any other plants. With Mr. HCB’s mother’s beautiful poppies behind, I think the lupins look wonderful.

However, the sad thing is that the soil is now getting rather baked, after a lot of sun, and Mr. HCB has had to water the garden this morning.  I asked last night why he didn’t do it “in the cool of the evening” and he said that it encouraged slugs and snails too much - so I had to bow to his superior knowledge! 

I’m glad to report that our little blue tit family is still coming back onto the bird feeders and their babies are obviously up in the nearby tree, because we can hear them - making the same sounds as they did whilst in the nesting box.  We have also seen great tits, green finches, gold finches and of course, the pigeons, who will insist on doing their courting in our garden and can get quite amorous!  They are also very annoying too, because they wander all over the garden, looking for any seeds the smaller birds have dropped, and in doing so, trample down our plants.  

Having been out in the garden early, Mr. HCB is now indoors doing a new Wentworth jigsaw puzzle he bought from eBay - I guess I should do some housework, but can’t seem to work up any enthusiasm for it.  I shall be glad when we have visitors again, at least that makes me do the cleaning, and I daresay I’m not alone in this!

The grass will be cut later - having let it grow long for over three weeks, I think it’s time, but at least we have let the insects enjoy it - if only my hair could be tamed in the same way - having grown a lot in the last twelve weeks, that too needs a good cut - but not sure that’s going to happen anytime soon.  I found this quote and could add the word “hair” after “flower gardens”!  

“Remember that children, 
     marriages, and flower gardens 
          reflect the kind of care they get.”  
H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

P.S.  Update : Since doing my Blip, the postman has arrived with Mr. HCB's tomato plants from Thompson & Morgan - he is totally disgusted, so I have taken photographs and will be writing a very strong email to them.  They promise 100% satisfaction so we will see if they are as quick to come up with a refund.  They were put into the despatch box 10 days ago, so you can guess what they look like!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.