Bug parasite

Less windy today for a trip to the Great Fen with Chris and Pete. I decided to accompany them to their survey area, which I'd not previously visited, though began to doubt the wisdom of my choice when I found that I had to walk nearly a kilometre along a rough grass track lined with Cow Parsley that was almost taller than me!

I found one stretch of Cow Parsley, sheltered by the adjacent woodland, that was heaving with insects, and spent a happy time there photographing them. This was probably my favourite subject  - the Tachinid fly Phasia hemiptera, an unlikely looking creature whose iridescent wings flash shades of blue and purple in the sunlight. It is a parasite of Heteropteran bugs, with known hosts including Green Shieldbug and Forest Bug. The female lays her eggs on these insects and the larvae then develop inside the living host. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.