BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 67

Imprisonment - Day sixty seven
Wednesday 27th May 2020

Cars - 24
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 2
Dog walkers - 2
Walkers - 1
Runners - 1
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 11.4c

There does not seem to be much logic in the daily car count although the majority of cars I see are on the last third of a mile of the main road. I presume numbers will rise when more shops open on 1st June 2020 and if and when the schools go back.

I kicked the day off by washing Ros' car. She's off shopping tomorrow and we can't have her going in a grubby car. Her car seems to get a lot dirty than it does when we leave it for six or eight weeks at a time.

I then sprayed the lacquer coat on the crack repair on the Bentley and started my detailed cleaning. I started with the front number plate and got as far as the bonnet where I remembered that last autumn I'd noticed that part of the bonnet tape needed to be replaced. I'd bought some last year and it just needed fitting. Which is much easier said than done as it's a fiddly job to remove the old tape let alone threading the new in and out of the brass mounting strip on the radiator. Slowly but surely the job was done and I could continue with my cleaning. The cleaning consists of removing any slight overspray and the dust and streaks left from the rubbing down. Not to mention the build up of oil dirt and grease from our epic drive to Athens last year. Still up to the bonnet is done and I managed to find time to fit the painted headlight brackets. Most things come apart easier than they go back together and the brackets were no exception as two of the four bolts were difficult to align and tighten as they were obscured by the chassis and the cables which run the power to the lights but with the usual perseverance the job got done.

I don't know where the time disappeared to today as looking back it does not appear that I got a lot done although I did have too repair a rubber hose leading from the air compressor as it had perished but tomorrow the side and headlights will be on and working fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.