BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 66

Imprisonment - Day sixty six
Tuesday 26th May 2020

Cycling Statistics
Cars - 40
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 3
Dog walkers - 1
Walkers - 1
Runners - 0
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 11.6c

Traffic seems to be increasing slightly in the mornings and dog walkers runners etc. seem to be on the decline.

Today I sprayed the garden furniture. It was nice to have a job which I could start and finish in a day. I started by cleaning it off with the jet washer and then had to move it to the Motor House using the tractor mower and trailer because although its aluminium it weighs a ton. Some time ago I'd extended the table top with some plywood which I then covered in aluminium when the ply started to show its age. The underside of the ply was a bit grotty so I painted it with some Hammerite underseal which Hayden gave me last year. Underseal is a good cover for a multitude of sins. I then made a repair to one of the chairs which had blown over in a bad storm years ago and put a crack ini its back rail. I've been meaning to fix it for years but never got round to it. So I made an aluminium splint which I drilled tapped and fix to the rail with four tiny stainless steel bolts. After lunch with that job done I did the spraying which was even easier than spraying the bed because the paint has to be applied thickly and if it ran it didn't matter as it was camouflaged by the leafy design of the seats. I left the furniture to dry in the sun and jet washed the patio ready for the freshly painted chairs and table. Just before six o'clock the furniture was back in its rightful position. The last time I painted it many years ago we found that the white table was so bright in strong sunlight that we had to wear sunglasses when sitting round it.

Had we not have been imprisoned we were due to drive to Dover today in the Bentley for the start of our annual six week Grand Tour of Europe. This year we were going to travel to Sardinia and Corsica but hey ho its not to be. On the brightside we've gained an extra six weeks at home which will give me ample time to finish off the Bentley. Infact had we still been going away the Bentley would have been ready to rock but the other jobs I've done would have been left for another time. So am I disappointed that we're not going away no not really we've been away so much over the last ten years it's nice to be at home for a change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.