Feeding frenzy

After yesterday, that makes two of us!

I couldn't resist walking this way again.  For such an elusive bird, they've chosen a very open nest site right above a fairly busy path - perhaps that does them a favour keeping the sparrowhawks at bay.  There's quite a good little patch of pine trees to watch them from though, out of the way.

The little one looks fairly substantial and is pretty vocal so I wonder if they'll be off soon.  

I assumed there was just the one in there but I've just read there may be four to six - I'm not sure how they take it in turns - it seems to be whichever has poked its head out.  There's a hole further down the trunk too so I'll have to keep a keener lookout next year as they don't reuse the same hole.

I don't stop long; I don't want to disturb them nor draw attention to them to passers by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.