pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Feed the Birds

A lot of excitement in the house this evening.

With the children being due back and knowing how much of a nature trip they’re on at the minute, I’d invested in a bird feeder and associated food, but had waited for their arrival to assist me in erecting it and filling the feeders.

M’boy buried his head in an old Roy of the Rovers annual as soon as her arrived, but The Youngest (who turned up with a rock to show me and once again clad in her Chelsea kit to wind me up) “helped” me put it together and immediately claimed ownership of a leaflet which came with the set listing common garden birds and the kind of feed they like. 

It was quite sweet as they sat outside in the pop-up tent (M’boy had rejoined us at this point) looking at the different birds we might expect to see. Never has the arrival of a curious sparrow prompted such wonder and excitement.

We participated in the final clap for the NHS at 8pm and I can only hope that once the dust settles, something real and tangible is done for those people at the sharp end. Goodness knows they deserve it.

Stay healthy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.