atoll

By atoll

The Shadow of The Tree & the Knot of The Earth

I was on my way back from meeting the very friendly Asbestos Consultant on site (Richard 'Ronnie' Barker is his given Health & Safety Executive moniker I am told). Nothing much to report out of that, unless I make a sad and childish reference to the original Ronnie B' squeaking to us about another important Quango, the "Loyal Society for the Prevention of Pisspronunciation".

On my way home the sun was shining as I passed St John the Evangelist's Church in Toft, and as it all looked quiet, I thought I would catch a quick blip. Little did I know that as soon as I parked up and got out, I was beset by a stream of cars arriving all at once, and with sweet little old ladies on board. All attending some W.I function or church committee, one would like to think.

It is a beautiful but simple church, and with an equally impressive little Lych Gate. I read afterwards that it was also famous for it's French patron and stained glass by French artist Antoine Lusson, which I missed. Another day then.

I chose this shot because although I had some equally nice photos of the Lych Gate (with joinery detailing to die for), I really liked the contrast of the strong tree shadow on the green algae-covered roof, set against the blueness of the sky.

As I left, I spotted the grave on the extreme left, and remembered it as being that of a 17-year-old Ben Lee, a Burnley FC apprentice footballer, who was killed in 1992 in a fall from the roof of the Turf Moor stand when retrieving a football lost in training. I had spotted it when I last set foot here during one of J's Primary School birthday parties in the church hall. It had all seemed so recent then.

Postscript: I have to admit to stealing my lovely title. 'In The Shadow of The Tree and the Knot of The Earth' is from the artist Anish Kapoor's book published to mark his 12th solo exhibition at Lisson Gallery in 2012, and marking 30 years of him working with the gallery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.