Making the Most of It

Yesterday may have been the last night of clapping for the NHS, but it was so mild and balmy outside that the seven neighbours congregating at 2 metre distances (give or take a foot or so) decided that weather permitting we would get together next Thursday evening, clapless but with drinks to hand. We all felt it to be so therapeutic to talk to another person. The weather may not be quite so accommodating though.

The beautiful evening became a beautiful morning and I found myself out and up at the Braids once more. The journey there gives me both a workout and a view. On the way back I was hailed by one of His Lordship’s young gym buddies on his way to work. I used to see him occasionally at the gym of a morning but the last time we spoke it was probably in January. I so appreciate it when the younger generation deem it worthwhile to engage with me.

With the early start, the soup and the vegetable stew were on the go when a passing friend, seeing the open door, phoned to say she was standing on the other side of the railings. Now that Nicola has allowed a certain amount of interaction with someone from another household, my friend was happy to come to the patio, sit and chat. Two conversations in one morning, my excitement is palpable.

It is almost too hot this afternoon but I’m not complaining. The young and beautiful in various stages of undress are disporting their lily white bodies in various yoga positions all over the Meadows while I sit in the shade as befits an elderly matron. It is so hot that the male fraternity are not yet feeling the urge to do any exercise - no frisbee throwing or footie. No barbecues either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.