Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lockdown Day 67 - Fledgling Wren

It is so rare to see a wren in our garden.  In fact until this year I can't ever remember seeing one.  We've noticed a couple of adults flitting back and forth across the patio in recent weeks and today our neighbours and I noticed a kerfuffle on the shed roof and this little fledgling suddenly appeared.  I haven't seen a fledgling wren for 8 years.

As you do I quickly grabbed a camera and I was lucky enough that this one perched on our apple tree for a few moments.  No sooner had things started than they were away and I didn't hear anything from them for the rest of the afternoon.

Most of the day was spent excavating a laurel bush from the garden.  It still had its original label on it (it cost £3.99).  What had been an insignificant little bush when bought had grown 8 feet high and 10 feet across, setting additional crowns from low lying branches.  It's left a big whole in the border to be filled!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.