horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Just hangin'

A Tetragnatha spider on the washing line... Only seen one once before, at the Scottish Wildlife Trust Milkhall Pond reserve, so while they're not uncommon, it was a slight surprise to find one in the garden. Maybe it's just a consequence of looking for things more in the garden during lockdown (though Mel spotted this for me).

I think my garden wildlife count during lockdown is up into the 70s in terms of species. I really must count it up...

Start of a week's holiday, and while I'll be tidying some stuff up over the weekend... My god I need the time off. Save for a couple fo log weekends, that's basically half the year without any time off. It might feel odd taking time when you can't really do much (though hoping to do some middle-of-nowhere walking with the ever so slight easing announced, which will be much safer than any of the close-by places that are getting hooching with folk), but that feeling on Monday morning when I don't have to open the laptop is going to be great.

And I can stop being made to feel like I'm not achieving anything by all of the folk on furlough learning new languages, reading millions of books, whittling spoons and doing videos of themselves dancing to the Icelandic Eurovision entry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.