Jen_Elliot

By Jen_Elliot

Family Quiz Night - Ancestor Round

My daughter and I hosted the family quiz tonight. It all went well and fun was had. I'd taken photos of some old family photos just to share across the generations at the end while people totted up their scores. I have a photo of my grandpa and his brother as young lads in what someone has guessed was '1916?' on the back of the card. If it is 1916, my grandpa is 14. I never met him.

I have my gran as a wee lass, maybe 4 or 5, so 1908 or 1909. She lived to 97 and my daughter is named after her.

I have the two of them as a couple, snapped in Largs and then my dad with his sisters - the one I've uploaded below.

My Dad is the baby in this pic, so late 1930s and maybe the second shot of the youngsters is late 1940s. The later shot is in Kippen, a village near Stirling from where, you might remember, said Aunt Winifred sent my kids a written postcard a few weeks back.

All three in these pics are alive. For some in the quiz tonight they are great grand-parents or great-great uncles/aunts. It always blows the minds of the young ones to think of the oldies in their lives as having been young once themselves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.