Colgaize82

By Colgaize82

Hidden Worlds

When I was a child, I used to believe that fairies lived in foxgloves and that they had little houses underground that could be reached via the stem of the flower. I’d probably read too much children’s fantasy- such as The Borrowers but I guess it didn’t do me any harm- moreover, it served to fuel my imagination.

These thoughts were with me on an early run as I felt like I was amidst the natural world just as it was waking up. This was certainly confirmed as I progressed further up the steep ascent of the fell & found I was having to brush cobwebs off my face (slightly freaked out by this aspect, I must admit!) I imagined I was being observed by a be-horned, mischievous sprite, sat on a branch: “what fools these mortals be!”

I was left in no doubt with regards my understanding that I was purely a guest here.

Anyway, I’m inspired to get out even earlier on my next child-free morning.

I wonder what the world looks like at 6am- when I’m not just focused on a quick run before work & when I’m actually looking properly?...

So that’s the plan: a dawn walk/run so that I might become an observer of the seemingly small but prodigious world which wakes each day, before us mortals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.