PENTECOST SUNDAY AND OUR FIRST DAY OF FREEDOM

It seemed strange not to be going to Church today, one of the most important days in the Christian Calendar, but we had a great sermon from Frank, ably assisted by his glamorous assistant, his wife, Rachel, and as usual Frank had some great visual aids to help us to remember what Pentecost Sunday is all about.  You will see a beautiful dove in my collage - this is from a lovely card sent to me by Sister Veronica, a Blip friend - it was so kind of her and I shall treasure this along with all the other cards she has sent me.

After the service we decided that we would go out for our first drive in 12 weeks so although we didn’t go far, it was wonderful to be out and enjoying the wonderful countryside of Wiltshire.

The little village we went to is only about 7 miles from Swindon and we saw very few people, whereas Mr. HCB looked up to the Ridgeway with his binoculars and said the car park at the top of White Horse Hill was packed.  Not for us!

I had made up a picnic - and I might tell you, I used the very method that is used to make cucumber sandwiches for the Queen!  I read about how to make these in a magazine and decided to try it.  Instead of cutting the cucumber into rounds, which can make the sandwiches soggy, you slice down the cucumber and make strips, being careful not to include the seeds from the middle.  Then when they are on the bread, instead of putting salt on, which draws out the moisture, you put on black pepper - I have to say, and Mr. HCB agreed with me, they were fit for a king and queen! 

It was then time for a walk;  two ladies passed us and we had a quick “physically distanced” chat.  They were obviously local ladies so we told them it was out first outing for 12 weeks and they wished us well before carrying on with their walk.  

Partway down the byway, and you can see how dusty it is from my collage, two young lads rode towards us on motorbikes - sadly they didn’t slow down and because it’s so dry, we nearly choked on the dust kicked up by their bikes, and it took a few minutes for us to catch our breath. 

About ten minutes later, when we heard two more motorbikes, I put my hand up to try and get them to slow down.  The first rider stopped and told me, in no uncertain terms that this was a byway and as such, they were allowed on there etc etc.  I was quite shocked at how vehement he was, but then he switched off his engine and apologised to me for being so curt.  I said that was fine and explained that I had only asked them to slow down because of all the dust the previous two young lads had kicked up.  The first rider said that they are always getting flak from people because they are riding along the byways, but having made our peace, we then had a lovely chat before they rode off - but not before I had taken a shot of them both.  They said they came from Devizes and had ridden from Cherhill as far as the byway we were on and from there they were going to Broad Hinton and then on up to the Ridgeway and back to Devizes via Aldbourne and Marlborough.  

What a glorious day, as you can see from my collage - how could I possibly choose one photograph from our first day of freedom?  There is a "nod" to Derelict Sunday - the pile of wood!

“If you will have patience in difficulties 
     you know the Holy Spirit is within you; 
if you will also have the strength 
     to be thankful in troubles 
          that is when the Holy Spirit 
               shines through you.” 
Arsenie Boca 1910-1989
Romanian Monk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.