100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 48 & MONO MONDAY

Well, someone had to do it and I thought it might as well be me!

The theme for mono Monday is “contains a silent letter“.  I didn’t even bother to look at the suggestions but immediately thought of the word “knickers “!  

This morning, I had a quick rummage around in my knickers drawer, found all the lacy ones, spread them out on the bed and took several photographs.  When Mr. HCB walked into the bedroom, I could tell  by the look on his face that he thought I had gone completely mad but of course he is quite used to me by now, so just rolled his eyes and walked out again!  A little fartnarkling with the Tangled FX and PhotoToaster apps and here you have my Blip for today.

This is number 48 in my 100 Abstracts Challenge, which you probably know by now that I’m doing to raise awareness of the Mamie Martin Fund, and hopefully, also to raise some money along the way.  The Fund provides money for school fees for girls who have gained a place at one of its partner schools in North Malawi, but who cannot afford to the fees. In 2021 the Fund is supporting 139 girls across six schools.

CHIMWALA  - was a Mamie Martin Fund beneficiary at Elangeni Secondary School from 2013 to 2017. The Fund paid her fees because her parents were struggling to pay them and consequently, she has been able to complete her studies without worrying about being asked to leave because of non-payment of fees.  Chimwala is so grateful for the support she has received from the Fund.  

In 2018 Chimwala was at the Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources and was hoping to gain a Bachelor of Science degree in Environmental Sciences.  She realises that she would never have got this far in her education were it not for the contribution from the Fund and her school.  I have put a photograph of Chimwala in as an extra from when she was at school. 

So many of these young women go back to help their communities after they have finished their education and become wonderful role models for others.

In other news, we chomped our way through a large box of chocolates over the weekend - it was a Christmas gift from one of our grandsons and the “Eat by” date was 31/5/2021 so we made sure we ate them all, but believe me, there was no silent letter - in fact, every chocolate shouted “Eat me, eat me!” so we did and enjoyed them.  I am aware of the phrase “Little pickers wear bigger knickers” so I’m glad all the chocolate in the house has now gone and we can get back to sensible eating and I we might even lose a few pounds before Summer comes.

“Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, 
     ‘What are you doing for others?’”
Martin Luther King Jr.

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.