100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 47

I was awake quite early this morning, and it was a beautiful sunny morning, which did encourage me to get up, so no languishing in bed for me today! 

I went in to have my shower, and as I am always on the lookout for a photograph for my Blip and, at the moment, something which is also an abstract, this seemed to fit the bill today.  I wonder if anyone can guess what this might be?  The clue is in one of the colours - and those who know me will probably guess!  Of course, there was a little fartnarkling done, firstly with the Snapseed app and then with TangledFX, another of my favourite apps.

Sadly the day has now turned quite grey and dull, but we have decided, after Zoom Church, to go out for a drive.  I will be driving, of course, because until Mr. HCB has had his appointment at the optician, it probably won’t be wise for him to drive, although he insists he would be fine.  

Here is number 47 in my 100 Abstracts Challenge to raise awareness of the Mamie Martin Fund, which supports young women and girls in their secondary education in North Malawi.  Today, while 27% of girls in Malawi enrol in secondary school only 13% actually attend and just a fraction of that group will finish school with only 5% passing their MSCE (Malawi School Certificate in Education) exam. Secondary education in Malawi is not free and many girls drop out due to financial hardship.

TIDYANAWO - From 2006-2009, this young woman was a student at Robert Laws Secondary School in Embangweni.  Like many other girls, her parents could not afford to pay her school fees so she was about to be withdrawn from secondary school, but thanks to financial help from the Mamie Martin Fund, she was able to complete her four years there.  

In May 2018, Tidyanawo was attending Mzuzu University in her final semester and hopefully, she obtained her Bachelor of Arts in Education, following which she hoped to become a secondary school teacher.  Once again, this young woman was eager to give back to her community, after receiving help to complete her own secondary education, which is so encouraging, not only to the community but also to the Fund that helped her in the first place.

The Mamie Martin Fund recognises the value of educating girls as part of the development of any society and it is committed to the education of girls, while being aware of the need of very many Malawian boys for educational support.

I hope you all have a great Bank Holiday weekend - have fun and stay safe. 

“We have an obligation 
     to give something back 
          to the community 
               that gives so much to us.”
Ray Kroc

P.S.  If you haven't already guessed, the photograph is me standing on the outside of the shower cubicle looking at the pattern of the water on the inside of the glass - and of course, I was wearing my pink robe - which is much better than standing there with nothing on, believe me!

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.