Exertion

Up early and after dithering a bit (should I drive and walk, should I cycle all the way, could I get an e-bike or try with a standard one etc etc) I set off along the canal tow path about 8am. Had the place almost to myself - I suspect I'd missed the really early birds but was too early for the usual Sunday morning crowd. Got to Heriot Watt where my app said there was an e-bike available, found it and set off via Currie to Harlaw reservoir. Very pleased I did - there was a HUGE hill out of Currie and I just made it with the help of the motor! Just as well I didn't go in the car - there was no parking beyond the bottom of the hill anyway so it would have been a slog! 
Another beautiful day, and incredible amounts of birdsong. At one point two goldfinches few alongside me for quite a way before stopping ion the hedge to watch me toiling on....really lovely.
Arrived at the reservoir....would be good to drive up here for a walk when things are open again....and once again it was deserted, just a few folk fishing. I was about to set off on the big circular route but then realised I only had one light showing on the battery and didn't want to risk getting half way round then being stranded, so took some photos then headed back. Swapped back to a manual bike at the Edinburgh Park tram station and headed back home. Not sure how I missed the canal turn but ended up having to come back on cycle paths and the road.....I'm hoping the gadget that I've ordered to strap my phone to the handlebars comes soon so I can see the route as I go along and not keep missing my turnings! Good trip though - 43km.
Home and had a shower and put on a dress (first time in 9 weeks!). Decided to settle down to some more REF reading and managed to finish it all then V phoned and suggested I come round for a G&T in her garden. It was lovely - do miss a garden when it's such lovely weather - and we chatted on about her garden makeover plans, the grandchildren, baking and cycling til it was time to come home and make the crispy duck pancakes that I bought yesterday and couldn't be bothered making last night. 
Shame that's the end of May...probably my favourite month. A busy week ahead

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.