misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Flower Mystery?

A strange thing is happening in my garden. Perhaps some gardening blipper can tell me what they think.
Two days ago (29 May) I blipped my first blooming iris. Today I noticed that all the iris currently blooming in different places all look like that first iris.
This one blipped today also looks like it. The original (29th) was given to me by a friend in North Carolina. 
The mystery is that ALL the blooming iris look like the Carolina iris even though what I planted here and in a border were fragrant, mono colored lavender iris, meaning same colors on the falls and uprights.
I wonder what happened to my other iris?? What made them change? Where are my lavender ones? Or is my memory shot faulty?
There are some iris near the mailbox that have not bloomed yet. They are really uniquely different, or used to be.
Has anyone noticed something like this? Shall we chalk it up to yet another strange thing in 2020?
The white flowers on the big shrub behind the iris are viburnum that have no fragrance. The flowers are great this year but the best part of this plant are the deep purple-red leaves in the autumn. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.