A German Volunteer

In my 2020 'season of discovery' I found this Chamomile blooming, not where I planted some a few years ago, but working for a spot in the perennial bed. The German version makes a pleasant tasting, sleepy herb tea.
I am pretty sure this is the German Chamomile rather the more common (weedy) one that is not so good for tea. The flowers of the German are much larger than the common roadside weed. Of course the bees are not particular; they like both types equally.
In any case, I am glad to discover it blooming here. I will weed around it letting it drop its seeds right here and hope for healthy spreading among other herbs --mostly that thug Greek oregano.

Nearly freezing temps during the night and the promise of a glorious new day to start the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.