My companion, Robin,

was an early bird, just like me .... I woke at 5.20 attempted to go back to sleep, did'nt work, so flicked on the kettle,  fed the birds, had breakfast, Greek yogurt, poached apricots, & granola, washed down with a black coffee. Put my gardening togs on, a quick row with hubby ensued regarding my getting up from bed so early ......... Time to be somewhere else!!!! I was'nt planning a day on the plot BUT ........ flask of coffee, hard boiled egg, sausage roll, tomato plants, camera, phone ..........  ops! & banana........................ BYEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

And breathe .................

There has been a huge Ikea bag full of clothes dumped outside the gates to the Cemetery. I'd spotted it on quite a few mornings as I passed, thinking someone parking their car there had forgotten to pack it in their car, or take it indoors. This morning I decided that if it was still there I would put it in the car and check out it's contents. It was still there, I stopped loaded it in the car then drove up to the plot, only another 50yds up the road.

I was first there so unlocked the gate, the air was beautifully cool. First job, water everything. Jim had checked out watering spuds. One a week was what was recommended so I gave them a really good soaking, & decided that I would give the onions & garlic a once a week soaking.  As soon as the watering cans came out Robin appeared, he's so cheeky, I love his company. Watering completed. Next task, finding a spot for the 6 Roma tomato plants  to be planted. 4 plants in, fed, watered. Robin was there, a grub in the manured ground. A tasty morsel for one of the brood. He's obviously got beaks to feed, following me around the plot, his beady eye searching all the time. I plant, he forages. 2 to go ... There is a gap in the row of raspberry canes. Just big enough for me to squeeze in 2 tomato plants.
Time for a coffee ... Robin carries on hunting. Then appears on the tomato canes directly in front of me. I grabbed my camera ... No, Robin, this is an IMPROMPTU photo shoot, you don't need to do any preening, just look this way.  I feel so chilled up here on the plot ...
Everyone else disappears around lunch time, home for lunch, retreating from the soaring temperature. My shack is in the shade until around late afternoon so a perfect spot to stop for lunch. An elderly chap turns up in a clapped out old van with a union jack flying from the roof top. I recognised him from the Chudleigh Produce Show last year. Mum knew him from years gone by. He was selling cabbage plants .. I do not have room for a postage stamp ... We had a lovely chat about growing, local growers that we both knew, what was ahead growing wise etc., for about 45minutes. He knew Mum & Dad from their days at The Anchor.

My gardening jobs completed, I checked out the bag of clothing. I think someone was hoping to drop these clothes into the Salvation Army bank, or drop them off at a charity shop. The Salvation Army bank skip is all taped up with a sign saying NOT TO BE USED. The charity shops closed obviously due to Covid19. I'll leave them in the bag, keep them in the shed and drop them off as soon as I can.  GRHHHHH!!!

3.45pm ... It's warming up on my part of the site, time to head home.

I've made Delia's ham rissoles for tonight's dinner, not sure how well they will be received ... I've never made them before, he's not speaking to me ........ could be interesting. LOL!!

Thanks to laurie54 for hosting Mono Monday, & Robin for being my IMPROMPTU Blip subject.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.