Out!

I went out today!! Whoop whoop!
For the first time since March 21st. It’s so fixed in my mind because it was the day before Mother’s Day and I went to the garden centre to get fence paint. Those two things have nothing to do with each other!!
Obviously I’ve been out walking but only Within a mile or so of our house.
The tax, MOT and insurance on my car all ran out at the end of March so we declared it off road and it’s been gathering dust and cobwebs on the drive ever since.
Lately I’ve been nagging reasonably and nicely asking Mr K to get the MOT sorted so I can go further afield to walk Archie and maybe to the garden centre for some plants. Nothing book-ends Lockdown like a trip to the garden centre!
Annoyingly because the MOT ran out before the end of March we’re not eligible for the six month extension.
The other day, my reasonable and nice asking having failed, I threatened to drive it anyway and pretend I didn’t know. That always sticks a rocket up Mr K.......
I know, I know I could just do these things myself but where’s the fun in that!!!!
So today was the day!
I got into the car this morning and pushed the button to start the engine. It thought about not starting but then spluttered into life. Then I reversed over the massive pile of cardboard boxes that the bin men left last Tuesday. Yes they’re still there!! So had to get out and move then before hitting the road.
It’s ridiculous but I felt quite emotional driving down the road. Music on, windows open. I do like driving!! Only a mile to the MOT place but still it felt good.
The set up was fantastic, loads of sanitiser, a plastic screen between me and the woman behind the counter, she held open a little plastic bag for me to drop the key into. All painless!
Then I walked home. I was giddy to walk through town. Everything looked so weirdly familiar!! I remember that sensation I had coming home from my travels in my twenties and everything was so green, so familiar and yet it all felt weird. I’d been away nearly eighteen months that time though!!
Obviously I could have walked into town at any point in the last eleven weeks but I didn’t. I’ve been too busy lazing about in the garden!
Not much else to report, the Little Misses went back to virtual school after half term and Mr Tesco’s brought the food round. How can it be Monday again?!!
The last four June 1sts we’ve been in Normandy for the DDay commemorations. I’m gutted not to be there :-(
I have to remind myself there are worse things in the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.