Rodents rule

By squirk

Incoming...bzzzz

I had fun on a tea break in the garden trying to get a sharpish shot of the leafcutter bee. I didn't manage, but I'll try again tomorrow. 

We're happy to see the leafcutter as we disposed of the last leafcutter nesting site when we got rid of our picnic table. This new nest is in the underside of the seat of a padded chair cushion. The chair is one that we abandoned outside the house – it folds up so the underside of the seat is vertical against the house. We can't get rid of it  now that it's a nest. I think the bee is slicing up one of my ferns. I'll investigate that tomorrow, too.

In other bee news, lots of buff-tailed bumblebees and mason bees on, mostly, the "weeds" that I've adopted as successful garden plants.

On squirrel news, a promising sunflower has been bitten in two. I've brought in the remaining sunflower youngsters for the night.

On fox news, the thyme has been dug up again and the ornamental hare has lost its ear, again. I found it under the hollyhock, which has just started to bloom. I haven't bothered supergluing the ear this time. I'll wait for a quieter season. There's a heavy pot over the thyme to keep it safe tonight.

I enjoyed a few video conferences and chats today- some work and some blether. We're on to round 3 of our lockdown "email of the day" where our team take it in turns to share images and thoughts since the last email that was sent. I'm learning a lot of lovely things about my colleagues and about the areas they live in. Today, I put Richard Burton's tomb on my list of places to visit after my manager mentioned it in her email of the day.

Our evening walk was to Norwood Grove and our main topic of discussion the ISS. This will make you think differently about shooting stars.

The extra pic is Juno catching some sleepy sun rays. He very chatty at the moment, which I encourage.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.