Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

FINALLY - ready to paint two warehouses

Received my order of strip wood on Saturday and today finished putting on the trim on the Montezuma Creamery (nearest) and the Bean Warehouse (middle).  The Feed Warehouse (furthest) got its roof trim after I took the photo.  

The Montezuma Creamery Warehouse gets a coat of flat white primer on all the wood.  Its siding and roofing is green corrugated metal - actually a paper product from Wild West Models.  While waiting for the strip wood, I painted the corrugated siding so it is ready to go.  I did this product slightly different this time - painted it a rust color, then over-sprayed it with medium dark green. Some of the rust color shows through. Once it is on the model, I will add more weathering with Pan Pastels.

The   Bean Warehouse gets a prime coat of dark gray paint on all the wood.  Then I will mask off the foundation and shoot the building siding and trim with a light gray color.  Already did the corrugated roofing in light gray (on top of a coat of rust).

Finally - when the paint is good and dry I can apply the roofing to all three warehouses.  The Feed Warehouse has heavily weathered and rusty roofing - ready to go.

So I guess the 15 days it took for the post office to get a little package from Denver to Durango (a 6 hour drive) was well planned after all because I could get the corrugated stuff painted.  And it got here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.