Not Bellowhead

Despite what the banner says, this is not Bellowhead. This is The Chair. I thought you might actually be a bit bored of Bellowhead by now (I'm not).

However, depending on how keen you are on Bellowhead, you might recognise some of their members guesting on this number. If you squint a bit.

The Chair were really excellent - and they include the two members of Saltfishforty who I have already seen at Celtic Connections - supporting and collaborating with John Speirs and Jon Boden. Er, who are part of Bellowhead (and the aforementioned members thereof here on stage).

My sister and I had a very good time, and we were able to have a dance for a change, as we've only seen Bellowhead in concert hall before. It concludes my Celtic Connections for this year. I've seen a man from Shawlands play Spanish guitar, an Ethiopian jazz-funk giant, Irish traditional musicians, a Shetland interpretation of a Norwegian resistance fighter evading the Nazis (narrated by a BBC Scotland sports reporter) and these fantastic Orkney folk... and some good olde English folk performed by the best band I have seen in years (if you don't count the last two times). The rest of the audience seemed to agree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.