hoodedpigwoman

By hoodedpigwoman

The Other End of the Mantelpiece

I haven't been out for days now, so here's the rest of the mantelpiece:

A picture of Crail my husband got me for Christmas one year. He hasn't actually taken me there yet.
A postcard from Eltham Palace from my mummy.
A tiny wedding photo.
The matching candlestick
The mysterious whirry thing that Granny Margaret got us from her holidays. Alexander loves it; it's very noisy...
Alexander's "bubbu"s
A papier mache pot from Japan that my parents' lodger Chizuko gave us; she paid me quite a lot of the way through university. She loved everything 'British', and took up patchwork because I was doing it, only to embarrass me with her skills within weeks. Inside the pot is the needle and piece of thread that Fergus ate when he was a kitten and the vet proudly gave back in a plastic bag (with a bill for £450).
My Dalek birthday card that hilariously both Granny Margaret and Bad Granny got me for my birthday. Do they think I like Doctor Who? The other one is on my desk at work.
Underneath is a pilfered chess piece. I am not allowed to divulge where from but let me just hint corridors of power

I was getting really quite fed up today with being poorly and yet another head of the household Hydra I am fighting popping up, but then Alexander put the bin on his head and ran round the house, and that cheered me right up.

You may have noticed my enforced incarceration has not inclined me to clean the mirror.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.