RIVER DEEP MOUNTAIN HIGH

Day 80 of personal lockdown

Took G out today as he hasn't left the house in ages.  So we left fairly early for us, about 9:40am.  He can't walk too far so we just went over to Sandside hoping it would be quiet.  It was reasonably so but more people that I expected.  I drove on towards Arnside and pulled into the little car park at Storth Embankment and just popped up on to the Embankment and walked part of the footpath there towards Arnside.  I've been meaning to walk along there anyway.  We did come across a few older people out walking, but not too many and all were being sensible.

We were only there about 40 minutes but it was lovely to be on the other side of The Bay. 

We then drove back to Sandside, where I parked up in the usual slot and took a few photos.  These people were paddling in the River Kent, which is tidal and highly dangerous, I thought.  Perhaps they are local and know the tides or perhaps it is OK here - I wasn't going to risk it myself though. 

The River Kent rises in the Lake District National Park as a series of streams to the north of the hamlet of Kentmere, which flow rapidly downhill and into the Kentmere Reservoir.

People were there with very young children and dogs mostly, but again not too many and all social distanced very well.   The lady on the right amused me because the whole time she was paddling she was on her mobile phone!!!

We then just drove home.  I've got a couple of other places to explore when I can now as well and I definitely want to do that Arnside to Sandside walk in the winter with few people  about and maybe even with the tide in!!!  It was beautiful and stunning.

I waved to Knottman and Gladders & C (and Gus of course) even though they're at the other end of Arnside - yep I am that mad!!

In the extras is a photo of the other side of the Arnside Viaduct, which is rarely taken. The train had just gone over the viaduct so I just missed that shot.  The large building behind the train is an apartment block in Grange-over-Sands the name of which, for some inexplicable reason, escapes me at the moment.

I also saw the two birds, they were way in the distance but they caught my eye, even being so small as they just didn't moved.  On zooming in I discovered they were birds, Oyster Catchers I think??  

I've just seen an appeal from Blackpool residents to close off Blackpool to visitors because of the lack of social distancing and the sheer volume of people and litter they left behind.  Whilst I agree with this, it needs to apply to the whole of the UK as every single sizeable beach, national parks, beauty spots etc were all the same.  The no limits distance travel should never have been allowed because obviously trusting people to do the right thing just isn't working.  

Must dash now as I have to place my next bread order at The Hazelmere.  

Take care, please do stay safe and see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.