Monk and radio-controlled car

Enough internet to upload three photos at once! Check back for the last two days.

I had to leave early (to get back to Yangon to catch a plane) so missed Lonely Planet's 'spectacular sunrise' too. Uselessly, since after my walk down the mountain dodging swaying trucks in the dark to get to the lower parking place in time for the first truck at 6am it didn't arrive until 7.30. The trucks are mostly used by the stall-holders, who wait patiently on their haunches, and by monks and children who find other ways to entertain themselves. By 7.30 there were a lot of us waiting so the race for the truck was mad. I couldn't get on the first one but when the second arrived I ignored the ladder I was supposed to use and instead scrambled over the side (with a bit of a push from a helpful person behind me). Haven't done that sort of thing for a long time - with rucksack too!

I needn't have worried - I got back to Yangon airport by 11.00 for a 12.30 check-in for a 2.30 flight which didn't leave until 3.15 and went via two other places before landing me, finally, at my destination at 6.00. A frustrating day. A frustrating two days...

(PS things get better...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.